The end and the beginning await…

n the campus of a small Michigan university, a small knot of college students struggles to survive the end of the world.  When everything they have ever known is spiraling out of control, these few begin to awaken to supernatural gifts they were born with, gifts and sensitivities many of them were not aware of before the end of everything.  Now, their newfound senses may mean the difference between survival and death.

Awakenings is a fiction serial set in a post-apocalyptic United States written by Erin M. Klitzke.  It is wholly original fiction and is copyright Erin M. Klitzke, 2008-19.

Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

Start from the beginning. (Book One)

Skip to Book Two (and three).

Skip to Book Four.

Skip to Book Five.

Skip to Book Six.

Don’t forget to vote for us @ Top Web Fiction!


Awakenings: Book One now available in print.
Amazon ~ Createspace ~ Barnes and Noble

Awakenings: War Drums now available in print.
Amazon ~ Createspace ~ Barnes and Noble

Awakenings Book One and Awakenings: War Drums available where Ebooks are sold.

 Book One

The world ended on an August Sunday, in a rain of stones from the sky, like something out of Revelations.  Marin Astoris saw the end of the world well before it happened, and her visions of the future become a guiding force for a small knot of survivors at her midwestern university. In the weeks after the end of the world, that knot of thirty students and one professor begin to awaken to supernatural gifts they didn’t expect.  These newfound talents may mean the difference between life and death–for them and the rest of humanity. Thom Ambrose loves Marin with every fiber of his being, but he can’t accept the prophetic gift they share.  If he does, he’ll lose the only thing that’s important to him: her.  His ignorance comes at a price. Is it a price he and his friends can afford to pay?

Now available as an ebook @ Smashwords, Amazon (US, UK, DE, FR, ES, IT), and Barnes and!  This is an upgraded version from the web-published version, including a revised prologue, a new chapter, FAQ, and additional added content.

 Book Two: War Drums

The world ended on an August Sunday, and they were what was left…but they’re not alone. Phelan Conrad came to the ruins of a Midwest university campus to help Seers Marin Astoris and Thom Ambrose survive in a wholly changed world.  But it seems that his presence may do more harm than good to the knot of Michigan survivors as they face escalating supernatural threats from all sides–including a goddess of Death. Gray Miller and his friends found Aoife O’Credne wandering the Pennsylvania woods and took her in.  They didn’t realize that by doing so, they’d be sucked into a supernatural war more than a hundred generations old. Neve Vaughan has carried a heavy burden–a magic sword as old as myth itself–since her return from beyond the pale.  When she finally finds the man destined to carry it, she believes that burden has been lifted–until she realizes that keeping the man she’s come to love alive is going to be a far more difficult task than she ever imagined. The forces of darkness gather–is there any hope for heroes in a shattered world?

War Drums is now available wherever ebooks are sold.  It is an enhanced, updated version from the online original including a brand new chapter and the previously unreleased short, “When Teague met Kira.”

 Book Three: Omens and Echoes

When the world ended on an August Sunday, the past crashed into the present and lives were changed forever… Thom Ambrose and Marin Astoris already had their hands full trying to make sure they’ll survive a Michigan winter–and now word’s reached them that enemies they didn’t even realize they had are closing in on them, seeking to usurp their power for their own or wreak vengeance upon them.  Allies are few and far between–and bring their own problems to the survivors’ doorstep. Cameron MacKenzie was a pilot before an asteroid’s fragments spelled doom for the modern world he knew.  Chosen by King Arthur’s legendary sword and safeguarding the woman who once carried it, this reluctant hero makes his way steadily west toward a destination unknown and a future he can’t possibly fathom. The Taliesin has killed a goddess of death, his predecessor may not be as long lost as believed, dying doesn’t mean an end to grudges or desires, and it suddenly appears that absolutely nothing is as it seems. Myth collides with reality as the gifted survivors of the apocalypse begin to realize that everything they ever knew or believed may very well have been wrong.

 Book Four: Taliesin

The world ended on an August Sunday and nothing will ever be the same.  As old enemies become allies and new problems rear their fair heads, winter settles over the survivor’s world.  Phelan O’Credne has faced thousands of challenges in his long life, but none has proven to be as hard to face as his current predicament: how to keep the people he’s come to love as his family safe.

 Book Five

Their world ended on an August Sunday, but it only meant a new beginning.  After a long winter, spring is fighting to arrive, and with the thaw comes more danger for the survivors and their friends.  Aoife O’Credne and Gray Miller set out on a journey to lead them to Phelan and his friends, the Wild Hunt finds its new home not far from the Lake Michigan shore, and Matt Astoris carries a secret that could save or doom them all.

Book Six

Nearly a year after the world ended on an August Sunday, the stakes keep getting higher for the survivors near the shore of Lake Michigan.  New allies and enemies threaten, old enemies become allies, and the cost of losing a fight has never been more dear.  Leviathan wants the world–will the survivors stand and fight, or will they yield to his banner?

Copyright 2008-2019 Erin M. Klitzke. Please do not reproduce without the permission of the author.

Contact the author @ doc (at) embklitzke (dot) com.

5 Responses to The end and the beginning await…

  1. Thank you to all the folks who commented on this before Book One was released. The first one is for you and all the quiet ones who were here, reading, testing the waters. Thanks to all of you, I kept writing on.

    …and on. And on.

    And on.

    Thank you.

  2. Juan H. says:

    I found this Serie by luck. I started reading it the monday at work :), and i find it amazing. First i thinked it was only an apocalypsis storie more,with people trying to rebuild society. But this storie has a nice twist to that other ones. Thanks for sharing this with us,i can wait for the next chapters to come.

  3. Matthew says:

    Hey miss Klitzke, i just found this story (well, actually last friday but you get the idea). Can’t quite remember just how, i’m thinking it had something to do with a science fiction forum but i’m not really sure at this junction. Anyways, I kinda swallowed the whole story as fast as I could and just wanted to say thanks for the great story and keep up the great work.

Got thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.